

To: Members of the County Council Date: 8 May 2024

Direct Dial: 01824 712589

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 14 MAY 2024 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN AND VIA VIDEO CONFERENCE.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Monitoring Officer

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL

To appoint the Chair of the Council for the 2024-25 municipal year.

4 APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL

To appoint the Vice-Chair of the Council for the 2024-25 municipal year.

5 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

6 MINUTES (Pages 7 - 16)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of County Council held on 27 February 2024 (copy attached).

7 PAY POLICY STATEMENT 2024/25 (Pages 17 - 64)

To receive a report by the Pay and Reward specialist (copy attached), to seek approval of the attached Pay Policy Statement for 2024/25.

8 ANNUAL REVIEW OF POLITICAL BALANCE AND APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CHAIRS (Pages 65 - 78)

To consider a report by the Democratic Services Manager (copy attached) on political balance and committee-related issues.

9 GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE (Pages 79 - 88)

To consider a report by the Corporate Director: Governance and Business (copy attached) to seek approval of amended terms of reference.

10 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 89 - 94)

To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy attached).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Peter Scott (Chair) Councillor Diane King (Vice-Chair)

Michelle Blakeley-Walker Brian Jones
Joan Butterfield Delyth Jones
Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones Paul Keddie

Ellie Chard Geraint Lloyd-Williams

Kelly Clewett Julie Matthews Ann Davies James May Karen Edwards Jason McLellan **Barry Mellor** Pauline Edwards **Terry Mendies** Gwyneth Ellis James Elson Raj Metri Merfyn Parry Chris Evans **Hugh Evans Arwel Roberts** Justine Evans Gareth Sandilands Bobby Feeley Rhys Thomas Gill German Andrea Tomlin Cheryl Williams Jon Harland **David Williams** Elen Heaton

Huw Hilditch-Roberts Martyn Hogg Carol Holliday Alan Hughes Hugh Irving Alan James Elfed Williams Eryl Williams Huw Williams Emrys Wynne Mark Young

COPIES TO:

Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils